Google Drive’s latest update removes one of its vexing collaboration limitations

What you want to know

  • Google has rolled out a new update to Generate that tends to make it easier for Workspace clients to collaborate with guests.
  • The new function will permit non-Google account homeowners to add and generate files in shared drives.
  • On the other hand, the new Travel characteristic is not out there to all customers.

Google is expanding its sharing element in Google Drive, permitting non-Google account owners to do much more than just perspective or edit shared documents owned by Workspace buyers.

The research big announced on its Workspace website (opens in new tab) that Drive’s visitor sharing element will now allow for non-Google account holders to upload and make files inside of shared folders. The objective is to make collaboration simpler for all stakeholders in an firm via one of the ideal cloud storage services.

Google initially introduced this element in 2020 to make it possible for Workspace clients to grant external consumers viewing and modifying obtain to files in their Google Docs, Sheets, or Slides. This accessibility was secured by a PIN code for identification verification, but its limits prevent folks outdoors of an organization from supplying their possess information.

The most recent update gets rid of that restriction, providing more strategies for Workspace users to collaborate with third parties. If you have turned on visitor sharing for your firm, the new capability will be offered by default.

Google Drive visitor sharing

(Picture credit history: Google)

Google has begun rolling out the new sharing attribute, though it will just take a few far more days for everyone to see it. Though at that, this new capability will not be accessible to all Workspace buyers. According to Google, it is only readily available to individuals on the Workspace Necessities, Enterprise Standard, Small business In addition, Schooling Plus, Enterprise Typical, and Organization Furthermore tiers.

This implies you is not going to have accessibility to the function if you are on a Workspace Organization Starter, Enterprise Necessities, Education Fundamentals, Frontline, and Nonprofits, as well as legacy G Suite Simple and Company tiers. Own Google account proprietors are also out of luck.

Sharing is caring!

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply